Sir Graham Balfour School

A member of Insight Multi-Academy Trust

Health and Social Care

Pearson Btec Level 1 /2 Tech Award Health and Social Care

Subject overview 

The BTEC Level 1/ Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas, which cover:

  • Skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing
  • Attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them
  • Knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.

The three components focus on the assessment of knowledge, skills and practices. These are all essential to developing a basis for progression and, therefore, learners need to achieve all components in order to achieve the qualification.


The components are interrelated and they are best seen as part of an integrated whole rather than as totally distinct study areas. Learners will normally take this qualification over a two-year period or longer.

  • Component 1- Human lifespan development:
  • Component 2- Health and Social Care services and values:
  • Component 3- Health and wellbeing:

Study of the qualification as part of Key Stage 4 learning will help learners to make more informed choices for further learning, either generally or in this sector. The choices that learners can make post-16 will depend on their overall level of attainment and their performance in the qualification. Learners who generally achieve at Level 2 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • A Levels as preparation for entry to higher education in a range of subjects
  • study of a vocational qualification at Level 3, such as a BTEC National in Health and Social Care, which prepares learners to enter employment or apprenticeships, or to move on to higher education by studying a degree in aspects of health or social care.


Learners will complete three mandatory units:

Component 1- Human lifespan development:
In this component, you will study how people grow and develop over the course of their life, from infancy to old age.  This includes physical, intellectual, emotional and social development and the different factors that may affect them.

Component 2- Health and Social Care services and values:
This component will give you an understanding of health and social care services and will help you develop skills in applying care values that are common across the sector.

Component 3- Health and wellbeing:
In this component, you look at the factors that can have a positive or negative influence on a Person’s health and wellbeing. You will learn to interpret physiological and lifestyle indicators and what they mean for someone’s state of health. You will learn how to use this information to design an appropriate plan for improving someone’s health and wellbeing, including short- and long-term targets.


Components 1 and 2 are assessed through internal assessment. Both components 1 and 2 are assessed through assignments that are subject to external standards verification.  Two assignments are produced for each of these components; totalling 4 submitted assignments.

There is one external assessment, Component 3, which provides the main synoptic assessment for the qualification. The external assessment takes the form of a 2 hour exam that is then marked and a grade awarded by Pearson. Learners are permitted to re-sit the external assessment once during their programme by taking a new assessment.



Sir Graham Balfour School
North Avenue
ST16 1NR

For Sat Nav directions:

ST16 1NJ


01785 223490